//
you're reading...
Places

A walk around Fairwater Shops in Cwmbran


This is a local shopping centre in  Cwmbran. I want to interview the business owners to find out their stories. I did this audioboo 20 minutes ago in the pouring rain. Here is the long link if you want to listen to it (1min 35secs) – http://audioboo.fm/boos/451258-a-walk-around-fairwater-shops-in-cwmbran .  I like Fairwater Shops because it is full of small business owners creating jobs. There is also a pub, betting shop, vets, doctors and dentist. I haven’t approached any of them for an interview yet so wish me luck.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

About Ben Black

I write the blog Cwmbran Life http://www.cwmbranlife.co.uk and the Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/CwmbranLife

Discussion

4 thoughts on “A walk around Fairwater Shops in Cwmbran

  1. A lot of the little shopping centres around here ultimately end up looking like this. I’m thinking Ringland shops and Bettws to name just two. Its a shame really, but I don’t think anyone would disagree with me here, they become places for the kids to hangout and ultimately the problems that come with that usually occur.
    Its a real shame because little cluster of shops are whats needed in these times, shops to build communities around rather than everything being about big out of town developments, unfortunately, I think these style centres are going to be phased out quickly.
    I can’t listen to the audioboo right now but I’m really interested to hear it so will return!

    Posted by Rachael Phillips (@rachaelphillips) | August 27, 2011, 5:16 pm
    • As long as local people support them they will stay. I think they are great and are vital for people who don’t drive. I much prefer popping there for a pint of milk rather than jumping in my car. I can remember when this parade of shops even had it’s own Lloyds Bank!

      Posted by cwmbranlife | August 28, 2011, 4:06 pm
  2. Some depressing images there,are all these closed, or just closed for the day when you took the pictures?

    Posted by eyeonwales | August 27, 2011, 11:14 am
    • Hi. No all those shops are open in the day. The pics were taken at 6.30pm last night. It is a sad sign of the times I guess that for the owners to get insurance they have to have shutters. I plan to follow up by interviewing as many of the owners as possible.
      Thanks for the comment.
      Cheers
      Ben

      Posted by cwmbranlife | August 27, 2011, 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

The view over Cwmbran

The view over Cwmbran

